New Jersey Motorized Scooter Law, adopted February 2005

New Jersey Motorized Scooter Law, adopted February 2005

(1) No person shall operate a motorized scooter upon any public street, highway or sidewalk.

(2) Except as otherwise provided in section 4 of P.L.2005, c.159 (C.39:4-14.14), no person shall operate a motorized scooter upon any public property or lands.

(3) No person shall operate a motorized scooter on the property of another without the consent of the owner of that property or the person who has a contractual right to the use of that property.

A person violating the provisions of section 2 of this act shall be subject:

(a) For the first offense, to a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $200, and seizure of the motorized scooter. The seized scooter may only be retrieved from the police by the operator of the scooter or if the operator is under 18 years of age by the operator accompanied by the operator’s parent or guardian.

(b) For the second offense, to a fine of not less than $200 nor more than $500, and seizure of the motorized scooter. The seized scooter may only be retrieved from the police by the operator of the scooter or if the operator is under 18 years of age by the operator accompanied by the operator’s parent or guardian, provided that the court adjudicating the matter approves the return of the scooter. In addition to the fine and seizure provided for in this subsection, the court shall order the violator to perform community service for a period of not greater than 25 hours.

(c) For the third or subsequent offense, to a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $750, and seizure and forfeiture of the motorized scooter. In addition to the fine, and seizure and forfeiture provided in this subsection, the court shall order the violator to perform community service for a period of not greater than 50 hours.

By | 2015-04-19T21:04:57+00:00 April 19th, 2015|Recent Law Changes|0 Comments